Posted by: topher274 | December 23, 2010

Adventure

Well, thought I’d rattle off a quick post before work today.

Indeed, this is my last day of work at K-Tech International, Inc. (a fine maker of Emergency Telephones for elevators, and a few other elevator related products).

Today, Thursday is my last day of work. Tomorrow is Christmas Eve. Saturday is Christmas, and I drive out on Sunday morning early.

(an explanatory paragraph: I am moving to Dallas, Texas to attend the Graduate Institute of Applied Linguistics. Along the way, I will be stopping for a night with my brother and his family in Celina, Ohio, then for about a week with my dear friends in Kansas City.)

I’ve been getting up around 5 a.m. every day, so that’ll probably be when I leave. Yep.

Especially since all the money has come in (!!!), I am filled with a sense of great Adventure when I think about the days ahead. I love to drive. I love the open road. Long hours of reflection, music, audiobooks and seeing the country.

Since Houghton, I’ve never been great at staying in one place. It’s not exactly a pioneering spirit – I don’t want to blaze new trails for others to follow in my footsteps – No, it’s always been all about the people, the culture, the life of common humanity we share on this earth – Be it in Connecticut, New York, Kansas City, Tanzania, South Korea, or even Texas!

Even so, this new move is a temporary one. If I were to be attending this program full-time (though that’s a little too rich for my blood), it is only 18 months for the Master’s Degree program. Then it’s off to who knows where.

Well, that’s me pounding out a few thoughts during this time of transition for me. I am so grateful to all my friends and relations, the kith and kin who love and care for me so much. I love y’all very, very much.

P.S. Even though I have been using ‘y’all’ as part of my active vocabulary since 2004, I am only now moving to Texas.

Leave a Reply

Categories

