Posted by: topher274 | August 4, 2010

Book of Cookery

Well, I’ve settled on a cookbook. After a weekend away, I went to the bookstore after work yesterday and browsed the hundreds of different cookbooks.

It was truly a wide array. From the classics of Betty Crocker to the hallowed texts of Julia Child, I found myself a little dizzied by the choices. It seemed like every personality on the Food Network had their own volumes as well.

In order to narrow down the search, I developed several criteria to get exactly the sort of book I was looking for.

1. Short – Some of these books were hundreds and hundreds of pages. I was looking for one with relatively few recipes so that I could make all of them and “graduate” to a more sophisticated cookbook.

2. Simple – Though I do have a happy faculty for following complex directions, I thought that I would start out recipes that were simple and straightforward, if I could.

3. General – I actually didn’t find the general cookbooks first, instead I just saw the sprawling shelves of Appliance cookbooks, Breads, Desserts, Foods by ethnicity, and fad diet cookbooks. These would just not do. I as much of my daily food intake to be from food I make myself, and that means a cookbook with all different sorts of meals: breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the very least.

4. Inexpensive – Some of these cookbooks are quite pricey, and though I am a strong believer on paying for valuable things, I really was shopping for an introductory text and price was an easy way focus my efforts.

So, after a good deal of careful looking, I found this:

Apparently, this cookbook is written mostly for college students cooking in dorm rooms or college housing. What could be more basic than that? The recipes are good and simple, and it even had the added bonus that it not only has pictures of the foods, but of every step of the cooking process. This interesting layout makes the book more spread out and I found very helpful.

The other thing that recommended this book to me was that since it is written for a college student, most of the recipes are for serving sizes that serve one person. Cooking for other people, however enjoyable, can add a layer of stress that is completely absent when cooking for oneself. So that’s nice.

Well there you have it! Umm.. I mean: There I have it. So I suppose I’ll let you know how it goes!

Responses

  1. I like the idea of single serving recipes, though leftovers can help reduce the workload of cooking for yourself. You might also consider cooking copious amounts of meat at once and freezing it so you can reheat it for future meals.

    I actually enjoy food blogs more than traditional cookbooks. This one is often impractical but has pretty pictures: http://smittenkitchen.com/.

  2. How’s the cooking experiment going, Chris?


Leave a Reply

Categories

