Posted by: topher274 | July 28, 2010

What I’m going to do about it.

It is a basic truism that loosing weight involves the proper mix of taking in calories and burning calories in such a proportion as to burn more than you take in: about -3500 calories per pound. The shorthand for this is “exercise and eat right”.

Someone once told me, and I have found it anecdotally supported, that women tend to focus more on the intake part of the equation and men tend to focus more on the exercise part of the equation. So it has been with me (though my own exercise plans have been haltering at best).

So, I think that I am going to focus on my intake (I am, as you can see, intentionally avoiding the word diet). As I said in my last post, I am particularly annoyed by the tens of thousands of food choices and even more opinions about what to choose, what to prepare, how to prepare, and a host of other labyrinthine and byzantine issues I’m not even aware of.

So, in order to simplify, I’m going to try to cut down these choices to one big choice at a time.

My dear old friend and now brother-in-law Zach once gave me the following food advice, when I told him (some time ago) that I wanted to start cooking for myself better instead of the take-outs etc. of life. He suggested that I buy a cookbook, and just work my way through it, one recipe at a time, from beginning to end. As I would work my way through, he said, I would start to build all the sundries of a pantry and keep a well stocked kitchen, just by buying all the ingredients for each recipe.

So that’s what I’m going to do. My first big choice will be to pick out and purchase a cookbook, and start working from it. I can think of no better place to share my experiences in this new journey than here, in public, on my blog.

Responses

  1. Inspired and wise. I look forward to reading about it.

  2. We should become weight loss buddies. Call me. P.S. You’re going to be in Kansas City on January 3rd. This is non-negotiable.

    • AHHHHHHH!!!!!!

  3. I’ve tried something similar to what Zach said. I’ll pick a kind of food, say chicken, that I want to get better at. Then I’ll go online and find different chicken recipes. I’ll search for the best recipe for a certain dish and try it. Then I’ll move on. What he said is true. As you experiment, over time your realize you have a fully stocked kitchen.

    And I’ve definitely found that eating deliciously is a bigger motivator than eating healthily, but cooking at home accomplishes both. I don’t like being tricked by myself, but in this case, I’ll make an exception. A delicious exception.


Leave a Reply

Categories

